Got no use for love songs

when love is in my heart,

Got no use for trees and mountains

when they’re right in my back yard

 

Got no use for blankets

in my house that’s bright and warm,

And got no need for sturdy shoes

I drive everywhere in my car

 

Got no need for understanding

I don’t have much to say,

And got no need

for God…

or religion,

all things that I can’t see

 

Got no need

no need

no need…

no tears

no pain

no joy

no art

 

I search through the garbage

for something to eat,

I’m hungry.

Check the cracks in the sidewalk

for a blade of grass,

my garden.

 

The children run, and jump, and shriek

and laugh as they defy me

destroying my rules

set for them

and me

 

But children need to play

If you can’t beat them…

I run, and jump, and shriek

Got no need for rules

when the child is in my heart

 

 

